Stages of Labor

First Stage of Labor

Starts with true labor contractions, as evidenced by progressive cervical change, and ending with the cervix completely dilated (10cm).

Second Stage of Labor

Begins when the cervix is fully dilated, pushing and birth of the baby.

Third Stage of Labor

Starts upon completion of the birth of the baby and ends with the birth of the placenta.

Fourth Stage of Labor

Is the stage of bonding, resting, and nursing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *