The pelvis “a basin-like cavity”

The pelvis protects the reproductive organs, and is the bony passage through which the baby must pass in order to be born.

Consists of four bones:

ONE sacrum (triangular bone with five vertabrae fused together)
ONE coccyx (small bone at the tip of the sacrum) AKA “tailbone”
TWO innominate bones (hip bones on each side)
– Each innominate bone is formed by the fusion of three bones around the acetabulum:
A. Ilium AKA “the hips” is the uppermost pelvic bone.
B. Ischium
C. Pubis
– Both innominate bones are joined in the back to the sacrum at the sacroiliac synchondroses and in front to one another at the symphysis pubis.

Four joints of the pelvis:

  • Lumbosacral
  • Sacrococcygeal
  • Sacro-iliac
  • Pubic symphysis

Print and color here: Pelvis bones & joints

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *